PSA: Support Dr. Henry Morgentaler’s Order of Canada Appointment

by matttbastard

Via Fern Hill (who yoinked it from Stacey May @ Shameless):

The Governor General is getting a flood of mail and calls from anti-choice forces. Please tell her how much you appreciate the courageous decision by her and the Advisory Council of the Order of Canada to award Dr. Henry Morgentaler the Order of Canada. Here is the contact information:

E-mail: info@gg.ca
Phone: 613-993-8200
Toll-free: 1-800-465-6890
Fax: 613-998-8760

Mail: Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean
Governor General of Canada
Rideau Hall
1 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A1

Thank you very much!

Recommend this post at Progressive Bloggers

7 thoughts on “PSA: Support Dr. Henry Morgentaler’s Order of Canada Appointment

  1. I sent a letter immediately to congratulate the GG and advisory board on their decision. I have also sent a subsequent note when the anti-choice forces started jamming her in-box with complaint messages.

    Like

  2. Is there any kind of organized response from the pro-choice forces to this? Haven’t found one so far by Googling (not through all the pages the “henry morgentaler order of canada” search pulled up, though).

    Was flipping past 100 Huntley Street today and they were praying for the country as a result of this, and encouraging people to write their politicians, etc.

    I wonder if also emailing the PM, your MP, etc. would also be a good idea.

    I’ve contacted Planned Parenthood in the past with a question about a stupid abortion-related sign in my clinic (long story) and never heard back, so not sure if they’re really able to do advocacy due to resource constraints…

    Like

  3. Meredith: Can’t say I’m surprised by the response from the ‘He Shall Have Dominion’ crowd. With regards to an ‘organized response from pro-reproductive-liberty organizations, I haven’t done much beyond cursory research (and would be interested to hear if you find anything in your Googling expedition), but I did find this in today’s St. John’s Telegram:

    The St. John’s Planned Parenthood chapter is reportedly “delighted” with the choice.
    Brenda Kitchen, executive director of Planned Parenthood, says she’s disappointed but not surprised by the ire raised by the appointment.
    In a release today, she says, not all Order of Canada appointments should be safe and uncontroversial. Rather, appointments should honour those who go against the norm and stand up for minority rights.
    “Canadians will remain divided on our views about abortion but we must consider all that Dr. Morgentaler has done for women, regardless of personal beliefs,” Kitchen says. “The Order of Canada recognizes that Dr. Morgentaler’s tireless work in getting abortion legalized was and is an achievement.”

    Like

  4. Thanks for posting this. After everything in the paper and on TV and radio I was getting mad that all you were hearing was the negative minority. I have sent an email to the GG showing my support.

    Like

  5. I have sent an email to show my support as well.

    Thank you for providing the contact information!

    Ironically enough, I received an email this morning from a friend’s mother asking me to sign a petition against Dr. Morgentaler – I deleted that one with no comment.

    Like

  6. I just had some ridiculous fundie leave me an anti abortion link, like that was going to change my mind. He got offended when I told him to FUCK OFF…such language, dear me like his pro-birth agenda is offensive. I support Mortgentaler, and I will write the Lieutenant Governor, it is the least I can do for the man that assured my right to choose. Just in case a fundie should stumble upon this..don’t talk to me about pro-life until you can at the very same time advocate for the children that are already living…you know socialized day care, an end to child poverty, work on that and then talk to women about thinking about having these babies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

