Ah, the Romance!

by mattttbastard

Just when you thought Dubya couldn’t get anymore douchier:

“”I must say, I’m a little envious,” Bush said. “If I were slightly younger and not employed here, I think it would be a fantastic experience to be on the front lines of helping this young democracy [Afghanistan] succeed.”

“It must be exciting for you … in some ways romantic, in some ways, you know, confronting danger. You’re really making history, and thanks,” Bush said.”

As Hilzoy notes, the lame-duck-in-chief previously expressed a chicken-shit hawk perspective re: frontline service that is completely at odds with his recent Churchillian pose:

“I was not prepared to shoot my eardrum out with a shotgun in order to get a deferment, nor was I willing to go to Canada, so I chose to better myself by learning to fly airplanes.”

Mister Leonard Pierce proceeds to layeth the smacketh down:

Every living male in my family other than me has fought in a war — Korea, Vietnam, the Gulf or Iraq. None of them exactly regrets his service, and there’s a wide range of opinions among them about politics and the necessity of the various wars in which they fought. It’s not a homogeneous group by any means, with plenty of die-hard liberals and plenty of stone-ribbed conservatives. But not a fucking one of them in a million years would describe their wartime experiences as “romantic.”

Courage; it couldn’t come at a worse more convenient time.

h/t Big Media Matt

Recommend this post at Progressive Bloggers

3 thoughts on “Ah, the Romance!

  1. So, I guess ‘Full Moon Over Khe Sanh’ didn’t sound ‘romantic’ enough back in the day.

    We know Chimpy doesn’t really read history so I also guess it’s unlikely he’s ever heard of General William Tecumseh Sherman, or anything the general ever said.

    Like

Leave a Reply

