Late Night Logic: “Crickets Kissing In The Rain”

by matttbastard

Tonight’s edition goes out to the one Vanessa, who sent me a-wanderin’ down memory lane with this delightful exercise in mid-90s nostalgia. Yeah, punk was my first love; but later (ie, shortly after reaching legal age) I sunk deep into the goth/fetish/industrial club scene–and yes, I was always the sole person of colour swimming in a sea of pale monochrome faces. Funny how a brotha rockin’ a leather mini-skirt, fishnets and black make-up inevitably gets compared to Prince (“ZOMG you look just like him!” Er, no, I didn’t. But thanks for coming out anyway.)

Bauhaus – She’s In Parties

(more delicious darkness and despair after the cut)


The Cure – The Hanging Garden

Sisters Of Mercy – This Corrosion

Joy Division – Atmosphere

Switchblade Symphony – Dirty Dog (Live)

Razed In Black – Oh My Goth! (Live)

VNV Nation – Legion (live)

Apoptygma Berserk – Kathy’s Song (live)

Covenant – Call The Ships To Port

Cubanate – Body Burn

Leæther Strip – No Rest For The Wicked

Front 242 – Headhunter

Funker Vogt – Gunman

Magazine – The Light Pours Out Of Me

Red Lorry Yellow Lorry – Spinning Round

Recommend this post at Progressive Bloggers

4 thoughts on “Late Night Logic: “Crickets Kissing In The Rain”

  1. Awesome. I think that was the playlist for, like, every Thursday night at the goth club in Cambridge that I used to go to. (Called Manray. How goth is that?)

    Like

  2. Hahaha I left out the Beborn Baton and Bigod 20 (because I long ago vowed to slit my wrists if I had to hear anything by either one ever again). My hometown went through about 5 different variations on the same goth club–various venues, identical crowd @ each one–the nomadic children of the night.

    Still see folks from the so-called good old days on occasion, and even drop by the most recent incarnation of the ol’ hang out (and instantly feel tres old. Le sigh.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

